skip to Main Content
About CMSA

An independent self-regulatory association of solicitors and commercial law firms

About CMSA

The Capital Market Solicitors’ Association is an independent self-regulatory association of solicitors and commercial law firms engaged in capital market practice. The Association was established in 2001, with the aim of addressing the marginalization of Solicitors in capital market operations vis-à-vis other professionals, such as Accountants, Brokers and Stockbrokers. It is set up primarily as a platform to articulate and promote the interest of legal practitioners specializing or dealing in capital market transactions.

The establishment of the Association became imperative due to the requirement to register with the Nigerian Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) as Capital Market expert or professional, pursuant to Sections 29 and 30 of the Investments and Securities Act 1990 (the ISA) now Section 38 of ISA 2007 and Rule 38 of the SEC Rules and Regulations. The necessity of registering with SEC is to make it easy to identify solicitors engaged in capital market practice and regulate their operations.

The Association is concerned with developing the legal framework within which the capital market operates and pursues its objectives by organizing training sessions, workshops and seminars for its members on topical issues arising in the capital market. As part of its vision to ensure a knowledgeable, dynamic and strong professional body, the Association has conceived a Continuing Legal Education (“CLE”) Programme for capital market solicitors. The CLE Programme is geared towards developing adequate legal capacity in the Nigerian capital market to meet the demands of an evolving capital market.

Executive Committee

The CMSA Executive Committee consists of the Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Financial Secretary, Treasurer, Social Secretary, Publicity Secretary and Ex-Officio members, who serve without recompense.

The regular term of office is two years.

The Chairman provides leadership for the Executive Committee and the Association.

The CMSA ExCo holds its meetings at the office of the Chairman.

2019-2021 Executive Committee Members

Benjamin Obidegwu


Chike Obianwu

Vice Chairman

Odiaka Vincent Iweze


Simisola Eyisanmi

Assistant Secretary

Blessing Choko

Financial Secretary

Joseph Eimunjeze


Otome Okole

Social/Welfare Secretary

Olubukola Olabiyi

Publicity Secretary


Ex Officio

Efeomo Olotu

Ex Officio

Folasade Ajibola

Ex Officio
Back To Top